The Royal Astronomical Society of Canada Announces 2014 Award Recipients

The Royal Astronomical Society of Canada (RASC) announced on Tuesday the 2014 Award recipients for three Award categories and the Ken Chilton Prize.

The winners were:

Service Award – The Service Award, established in 1959, is awarded to members of the RASC who have made significant contributions at either the National and/or Centre levels.
– Jay Anderson, Winnipeg
– Susan Gagnon, Kingston
– Dave Gamble, Okanagan
– Dr. James Hesser, Victoria
– Greg Lisk, Belleville
– Chris Stevenson, St. John’s
– Mary Lou Whitehorne, Halifax

Fellow Award – Established in 2013, this award is given to recognize long-term commitment to the Society.
Dr. James Hesser, Victoria

Qilak Award – Established in 2011, this award is intended to recognize individual Canadian residents, or teams of residents, who have made an outstanding contribution, during a particular time period, either to the public understanding and appreciation of astronomy in Canada, or to informal astronomy education in Canada, and to promote such activities among the members of the sponsoring organizations.
– Dr. Howard Trottier, Vancouver

Ken Chilton Prize – Established in memory of Ken Chilton, this prize is awarded for a specific piece of astronomical research or work carried out or published recently.
– Kathryn Gray, Halifax
– Nathan Gray, Halifax

About Marc Boucher

Boucher is an entrepreneur, writer, editor & publisher. He is the founder of SpaceQ Media Inc. and CEO and co-founder of SpaceRef Interactive LLC. Boucher has 20+ years working in various roles in the space industry and a total of 30 years as a technology entrepreneur including creating Maple Square, Canada's first internet directory and search engine.

Leave a Reply