Victoria Kaspi and Mac Evans Among Those Receiving Order of Canada

From left to right: Peter Martin, Victoria Kaspi, Lorne Trottier, Mac Evans, John Bandler, and David Barber.
The Governor General of Canada office announced today 100 new appointments to the Order of Canada. The list includes 3 Companions (C.C.), 22 Officers (O.C.) and 75 Members (C.M.). Of those, six work or have worked in space related fields. 

Victoria Kaspi, an astrophysicist from McGill University is one of three people to join the Companions of the Order of Canada.

William MacDonald Evans, better known within the community as Mac Evans, was Canada’s longest serving president of the Canadian Space Agency and becomes a Member of the Order of Canada.

In making the announcement His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada said  “I am delighted to recognize these new recipients of the Order of Canada in this milestone year. Besides marking Canada’s 150th anniversary, 2017 marks the 50th anniversary of the Order. So let’s be inspired by the examples set by these remarkable Canadians and use this occasion to build a smarter and more caring country in which every individual can succeed to the greatest extent possible.”

The Order of Canada was created in 1967 and is one of the country’s highest civilian honours which recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation.

Other’s receiving the Order include Lorne Trottier who is promoted within the Order to Officer, John Bandler, David Barber and Peter Martin who also become Officers of the order of Canada.

Lorne Trottier was also a member of the government appointed Space Advisory Board.

2016 Order of Canada List – Space Related


Victoria M. Kaspi, C.C.
Montreal, Quebec
For her global renown as an astrophysicist and for her celebrated insight into the behaviour of neutron stars.


John William Bandler, O.C.
Dundas, Ontario
For his scientific contributions that have helped to position Canada at the forefront of microwave engineering.

David G. Barber, O.C.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
For his leadership in environmental science and for his contributions to the study of arctic sea ice processes.

Lorne Trottier, O.C.
Beaconsfield, Quebec
For his generosity as one of Canada’s leading supporters of research and education in the sciences.
This is a promotion within the Order.

Peter G. Martin, O.C.
Toronto, Ontario
For his innovative research on interstellar matter and for establishing two world-renowned institutes of astronomy and astrophysics.


William MacDonald Evans, C.M.
Ottawa, Ontario
For his sustained leadership of Canada’s space program as president of the Canadian Space Agency.

Motto and Levels

The Order of Canada’s motto is DESIDERANTES MELIOREM PATRIAM (They desire a better country). Her Majesty The Queen is the Sovereign of the Order, and the Governor General is the chancellor and Principal Companion of the Order.

Companion – Post-nominal: C.C.
Recognizes national pre-eminence or international service or achievement;

Officer – Post-nominal: O.C.
Recognizes national service or achievement; and

Member – Post-nominal: C.M.
Recognizes outstanding contributions at the local or regional level or in a special field of activity.

About Marc Boucher

Boucher is an entrepreneur, writer, editor & publisher. He is the founder of SpaceQ Media Inc. and CEO and co-founder of SpaceRef Interactive LLC. Boucher has 20+ years working in various roles in the space industry and a total of 30 years as a technology entrepreneur including creating Maple Square, Canada's first internet directory and search engine.

Leave a Reply