Inspiring: Space Jam of Is Somebody Singing?

What happens when you get Chris Hadfield, the Wexford Gleeks Choir, Ed Robertson and the Barenaked Ladies together? An inspirational song titled I.S.S. (Is Somebody Singing), pun intended.

While Hadfield played in the cupola of the International Space Station, Ed Robertson of the Barenaked Ladies, co-writer of the song with Hadfield, jammed with the rest of the Barenaked Ladies and the Wexford Gleeks Choir at the CBC studios in Toronto.

The song was commissioned by CBCMusic.ca and the Coalition for Music Education with the Canadian Space Agency to celebrate music education in schools across Canada.
The first of its kind collaboration, will make history on Music Monday (May 6), as the largest musical collaboration ever, as Hadfield will sing with students across the country.

Inspiring: Space Jam of Is Somebody Singing?

Music Monday is an annual event that brings together students, musicians, parents and community members across the country to celebrate the gift of music.

Music Monday is celebrated on the first Monday of May each year at 10 a.m. Pacific time, 11 a.m. Mountain time, 12 p.m. Central time, 1 p.m. Eastern time, 2 p.m. Atlantic time and 2:30 p.m. in Newfoundland and Labrador and has been celebrated since 2005.

The lyrics to song are available for download so you can sing along.

Related: CBC Music Space Blog

MDA

About Marc Boucher

Marc Boucher
Boucher is an entrepreneur, writer, editor & publisher. He is the founder of SpaceQ Media Inc. and CEO and co-founder of SpaceRef Interactice Inc. Boucher has 18 years working in various roles in the space industry and a total of 25 years as a technology entrepreneur including creating Maple Square, Canada's first internet directory and search engine.

Check Also

Expedition 55 Flight Engineer Drew Feustel of NASA is inside the Japanese Kibo laboratory module talking to dignitaries on Earth, including university officials, musicians and scientists, during an educational event that took place at Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario

NASA’s Drew Feustel Speaks With Students at this Alma Mater Queens University

Drew Feustel is an American astronaut who after joining NASA became a Canadian citizen. Recently …